Roxbury, MA
Bruce Bolling Building
Drylongso Racial Justice Leadership Awards
Fri, November 18, 2016 6:00PM to 9:30PM (Pacific)
[Download to Calendar]
Event dot arrow openI WANT TO ATTEND
Name Remaining Available Until Price Fee Qty
Single Ticket  [+] 103 $50.00 $3.74
Community Change Inc. works tirelessly to challenge structural racism. This year's Drylongso Awards provides a unique opportunity for our community to come together to celebrate the work we all do. The Drylongso Awards, begun in the late 1980s, honors
Table of 10  $425.00 $0.00
Total:  $0  
Bt event checkout
Event dot arrowI CANNOT ATTEND BUT I WANT TO DONATE Event donate orange

Greetings Friends and Community Members,

Community Change Inc. works tirelessly to challenge structural racism. This year's Drylongso Racial Justice Awards provides a unique opportunity for our community to come together to celebrate the work we all do.  CCI has hosted this event since 1989.

 The CCI Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates those who have been and continue to be at the forefront of this work and whose efforts have made a significant impact on issues surrounding structural racism. The leadership award honors the work of individuals within three categories, each appropriately recognized with its own award. 

Drylongso Award

"Ordinary people doing extraordinary work against racism"

Established in 1989, the Drylongso Awards honor ordinary people doing extraordinary anti-racism work in Greater Boston. The Drylongso Awards are inspired by the book Drylongso: A Self-Portrait of Black America. In that book, anthropologist John Langston Gwaltney details the daily struggles of Drylongso, or ordinary African Americans fighting racism.

2016 Drylongso Recipients

Debby Irving-Author/Educator 
Stewart Lanier- Educator/Activist 

2016 Emerging Leaders

Black Lives Matter-Cambridge
Lori Hurlebaus- Community Organizer 

Lifetime Achievement 

Lydia Lowe- Chinese Progressive Association

We also will be joined by special guest David Billings. David David Billings is an educator, organizer and historian who has worked for half a century in the struggle for racial justice.  His just-published book, Deep Denial: The Persistence of White Supremacy in United States History and Life - part popular history, part personal memoir - documents the 400-year racialization of the United States and how people of European descent came to be called "white."

Please join Community Change for the presentation of the 2016 Drylongso Racial Justice Awards

We hope that you will join us on Friday, November 18th.

Event Details

When: Friday, November 18, 2016 from 6:00-9:30 p.m. Program starts at 7:00 pm.
Where: Bruce Bolling Building
2300 Washington Street, Roxbury
Cost: $50 per person, which includes hors d'oeuvres. A cash bar will be available

Scholarships are available for those in need; no one will be turned away.


Event tellafriend Event facebook Event twitter Event linkedin Event gplus Event digg Event delicious
  • Get a button to link to this event
Polly Attwood
Gabriel Baldwin
Julie Barnes
Peggy Barrett
Beverly Bates
Barbara Beckwith
Barbara Beckwith
Hallie Boas
Alison Brill
Karen Chen
Lavette Coney
Christine Connors
Katharine Cunningham
Estelle Disch
Lisa Gimbel
Alison Graham
Jessica Grant
Renae Gray
Lori Green
Max Greenberg
Debra Griffin
Marian Groot
Marcia Hams
Dora Hui
Myung Kang
Cynthia Koebert
Georgia Lanier
Stacey Lanier
Emily Lanier
Suzanne Lee
Andrew Leong
Mark Liu
Tom Louie
Paul Madden
Shirley Mark
Shirley Mark
Shirley Mark
Shirley Mark
Eva Martin Blythe
Anne G McAuliffe
Bret McEvoy
Peter Mitchell
Yusin Mok
Susan Montgomery
Ann Moritz
Sam Moulton
Susan Naimark
Ben Naimark-Rowse
Kyra Norsigian
Jung Sun Oh
Stephen Pereira
Becky Pierce
Bruce Pritchard
Mike Prokosch
Sarah Rakhmankulova
Antonio Regalado
John Rowse
Stephanie Rudloe Regalado
Terry Rushfirth
Susan Rushfirth
Robbie Samuels
Wendy Sanford
Janet Santos
Jeff Seco
Bonnie Shepard
Betsey St. Onge
Matthew St. Onge
Jian Hua Tang
Aba Taylor
Fred Thompson
Sandy Thompson
Sandy Thompson
Ian Trefethen
Anne Vera Cruz
Ann Wong
Howard Wong
Chi Chi Wu
Jennifer Yanco
Wayne Yeh
Fred Yen
Fiona Yu
shaquille jones